Book Updates

I haven’t posted much this past week because I decided to spend some time unplugged from the computer! While I enjoy reading blogs, and discovering new challenges, I have also made it one of my goals to take time for myself this year. I need to spend some time away from electronics and enjoying some of my other favorite things! As a result I spend a chilly Sunday afternoon hiking with my boyfriend. I also spent time perusing the bookstore, my boyfriend made me leave before I could do too much damage. I did manage to purchase 5 books before he cut me off. In an effort to be more resourceful, I also visited the local library and picked up a library card.

I have to admit getting the library card made me a wish I was still living in New Hampshire. I never had a library card growing up, well maybe I had one, but I never needed it. I rode my bike to the library almost every other day, and all the librarians knew my name. I was in eighth grade before I realized that the library even gave out library cards.

Below is a quick recap of what I have been reading in the past week. In the next few days I should have book reviews and other interesting tidbits up.

Nancy Drew by Carolyn Keene- I borrowed the first three in the series from the library because I couldn’t wait to get started on the challenge!

Percy Jackson by Rick Riordan- I now own the first three books in the series and have finished the first two. I’ve decided to wait a few days before writing up my reviews, I need some time to think over the stories.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte- I have made quite a bit of progress. I am trying to slow myself down a little. I have always loved this book, and once it is over, I will have too many other challenge books to revisit it for quite some time.

The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb- I’m still working my way through this one. I can’t decide how I feel about it, I guess I will have to keep reading and explain my mixed feelings in the review.

My Mother the Cheerleader by Robert Sharenow- I picked this up in the YA section of the library. So far I am enjoying it, I think my review of this book will have to be coupled with some actual research on these “cheerleaders.”

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Book Updates”

  1. Heather Says:

    Interstingly, people at work were talking about the Wally Lamb book. They all had nothing but good things to say about it.

Leave a Reply

