The Rory Gilmore Challenge

I absolutely LOVE The Gilmore Girls, and when I came across this challenge I knew I had to participate. I often wondered how many books Rory read, it seemed that she had at least one new book with every episode. I am actually planning on participating in two Gilmore challenges. One is Rory Gilmore Books project, a perpetual challenge hosted by Shona at Shona’s Book Shelves. The goal is to read all of the books mentioned, read or discussed during the series.

The second challenge I will participate in is Gilmore Girls Reading Challenge. The challenge begins on January 1st 2010 and end on December 31st. This challenge has three levels :

Emily: Read 5 books from at least 2 different categories
Lorelai: Read 10 books from at least 3 different categories
Rory: Read 20 books from at least 4 different categories

I am going for the Rory level. Below I have listed my choices (these may change in order to match up better with other challenges I join in the future).

1. Lady Chatterly’s Lover-D.H.Lawrence
2. The Canterbury Tales- Geoffry Chaucer
3. Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen
4. Jane Eyre- Charlotte Bronte

5. The Perks of Being a Wallflower- Stephen Chobsky

6. A Clockwork Orange- Anthony Burgess
7. Gone with the Wind- Margaret Mitchell
8. A Streetcar Named Desire- Tennessee Williams
9. The Catcher and the Rye- JD Salinger
10. Slaughterhouse Five- Kurt Vonnegut

11. Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter- Simone De Beauvoir
12. Tuesdays with Morrie- Mitch Album
13. What Color is Your Parachute- Richard Nelson Bolles
14. The Miracle Worker- William Gibson
15. Nickel and Dimed- Barbara Ehrenreich

16. Driving Miss Daisy- Alfred Uhry
17. The Joy Luck Club- Amy Tan
18. Girl Interrupted- Susanna Kaysen
19. What Happened to Baby Jane- Henry Farrell
20. Everything is Illuminated- Jonathan Safran Foer

I will be posting reviews of each of these books as I finish them. I can’t wait to begin, it looks like an interesting list and it will give me the opportunity to read classics that I’ve been meaning to get around too, as well as many titles that I may have skipped all together. I think I will start off with one of my all time favorites however, and read Jane Eyre. I have always enjoyed this book, and it will be nice to begin a new year with an old friend.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The Rory Gilmore Challenge”

  1. Heather Says:

    I actually thought of you when I had seen this challenge!

  2. Katie Says:

    I just couldn’t resist!

Leave a Reply

