Nancy Drew Challenge

Fourth Grade was my Nancy Drew year. I remember receiving an award for reading 88 books in the fourth grade, if I found the list I made of those books, I bet at least 50 of them were Nancy Drew books. My dad used to read to me each night before I went to bed. Nancy Drew was the first time that this habit drove me nuts, my dad wasn’t reading the stories quickly enough for me, a chapter a night wasn’t enough…I was always dying to know what would happen next. That was the year I told my dad I know longer needed him to read to me, I could do it myself. I’m sure my father was devastated by this “growing up” I was doing, especially since I stopped him mid-book. To this day he probably doesn’t know the end to which ever book we were reading at the time. (I think perhaps he has gotten over it by now.)

When I came across this challenge I knew I wanted to participate! I still have all of my yellow spined books, and I probably won’t even have to buy or borrow a single book for this challenge. I didn’t realize that the books I own are shorter than the original novels. Although the originals do not count towards the official challenge I am going to try to get my hands on a few and check them out.

The challenge is hosted at Books, Movies, and Chinese Food and runs from today (Jan. 1) until December 31st. I will add each of the 56 titles to this post as I finish them! (I can’t start until I get the books from my mothers attic, so don’t expect anything for a few weeks).

1. The Secret of the Old Clock
2. The Hidden Staircase
3. The Bungalow Mystery

Jan. 31, 2010
4. The Mystery at Lilac Inn
5. The Secret at Shadow Ranch
6. The Clue in the Diary
7. Nancy’s Mysterious Letter
8. The Sign of the Twisted Candles
9. Password to Larkspur Lane

Feb 7, 2010
10. The Clue of the Broken Locket
11. The Message of the Hollow Oak
12. The Mystery of the Ivory Charm
13. The Whispering Statue

15. The Clue of the Tapping Heels
16. The Mystery of the Brass Bound Trunk

Feb. 10, 2010
18. The Mystery of the Moss Covered Mansion

Feb 14, 2010
19. The Quest of the Missing Map
20. The Clue in the Jewel Box

Tags:

Leave a Reply

